Skip to Main Content
Search the Online Catalog
LIBROS / WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
The online catalog, which provides access to printed books, e-Books, and other physical resources in the library collection at UNM-Los Alamos, other UNM libraries, and libraries around the world.
Multi-subject Database Best Bets
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is one of the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary streaming educational video collection, with large array of topics, including many academic subject areas in arts, sciences, and humanities; pop culture; documentaries and news reels.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
General index to articles across many disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
Gale in Context - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals (more than 770 in full text), books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Offered through EBSCOhost.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
general index to articles across all academic disciplines. Searches may be done across the entire database or within specific disciplines. Many articles are full-text
Anthropology Online Databases
American Philosophical Society, Native American Images This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized Native American images, drawings made on Lewis and Clark's expedition, paintings by C.B.J.F. St. Memin, sketches by Titian Ramsay Peale, watercolors by James Otto Lewis, and more. The collection also includes photographs by anthropologists such as Franz Boas, Frank G. Speck, Elsie Clews Parson, and A. Irving Hallowell.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two major indexes: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index. Citations to journal articles, reports, commentaries, obituaries, and more. Includes the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and related interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: 19th century-present.
HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies, and organized by regions and archaeological traditions. Each tradition consists of a general summary and documents including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts. Focuses on in-depth descriptive documents that are subject-indexed. It has eight completed sequences, such as the Egyptian, Highland Andean, Coastal Andean, Maya, Highland Mesoamerican, Mississippian, Mesopotamian, and the Southwest United States.
HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Digitized ethnographic collections covering aspects of cultural and social life. A repository of cultural knowledge for anthropological and cross-cultural research within and across disciplines that focuses on in-depth descriptive documents that have been subject-indexed.
National Geographic Viritual Library This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, environment, cartography, and more published in National Geographic from 1888 to the mid-1990's. Includes photos. Ability to search for articles and images.
Anthropology Open Access and Web Resources
American Museum of Natural History, Division of Anthropology
site offers the material and textual data of the work of anthropologists such as Clark Wissler, Margaret Mead, Nels Nelson, David Hurst Thomas and many others. Contains images of objects organized by geographic area, culture, and object name, among other schemes.
The Archaeology Channel
provides free access to streaming media covering archaeology around the world. Includes over 100 videos as well as audio files of new summaries, commentaries, interviews, and topical collections.
Paleontology without walls
the University of California Museum of Paleontology.
