LibGuides: Anthropology Research Guide: Research Tools

Information Literacy Fundamentals

Information Literacy Fundamentals Session 1 Video Covers information needs, information types and formats, Internet information, and resource evaluation.

Information Literacy Fundamentals Session 2 Video Covers Search types; Choosing and narrowing a topic; Boolean search terms; using parentheses; using quotation marks; wildcard symbols.

Information Literacy Session 2 Handouts
Database Exploration Guides A guide to become familiar with the LIBROS-WorldCat Discovery (the online catalog) and the Academic Search Complete online datbase
Database Exploration Search Assignment This assignment accompanies the Database Exploration Guides.

Optional handouts

Plagiarism

How do I Know if I'm Plagiarizing? An at-a-glance guide to understanding what constitutes plagiarism and how to avoid it

Plagiarism 2.0 Video 22 minute video about plagiarism and ethical use of information.

Plagiarism Resources Short list of resources that define plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Citation Help

MLA 8th ed. citation style guide examples Provides a pattern and example for a variety of common resource formats (books, videos, etc.)
MLA 8th ed.Citation Style Resources Brief list of resources about the MLA 8th ed. style guide
APA 7th ed. Citation Style Examples Provides the pattern and an example of the citation formats of selected information types.
APA 7th ed. Style Guide Resources Brief list of resources about the APA 7th ed. style guide
How to format citations in hanging-indent style

Classification for Anthropology print resources:

Classification System Guide for Finding Print Resources Guide to the subject area classifications used for print materials (books, videos, etc.) in the library's collection.