Skip to Main Content
Search the Online Catalog
LIBROS / WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
The online catalog, which provides access to printed books, e-Books, and other physical resources in the library collection at UNM-Los Alamos, other UNM libraries, and libraries around the world.
Multi-subject Database Best Bets
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is one of the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
general index to articles across all academic disciplines. Searches may be done across the entire database or within specific disciplines. Many articles are full-text
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
General index to articles across many disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
Gale in Context - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary streaming educational video collection, with large array of topics, including many academic subject areas in arts, sciences, and humanities; pop culture; documentaries and news reels.
Sociology databases
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Gale OneFile Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to the study of Pop Culture.
Gale OneFile War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window Gender Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides data on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation. Available from the World Bank's Open Data Initiative. Select Gender Statistics from the menu of options.
HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Digitized ethnographic collections covering aspects of cultural and social life. A repository of cultural knowledge for anthropological and cross-cultural research within and across disciplines that focuses on in-depth descriptive documents that have been subject-indexed.
National Geographic Viritual Library This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, environment, cartography, and more published in National Geographic from 1888 to the mid-1990's. Includes photos. Ability to search for articles and images.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's journal portal provides full-text access to select (only titles with "Full-text available" icon are subscribed to) scientific, technical, and medical journals. Provides access to over 3,800 periodical titles and over 37,000 books. Some articles may be downloaded free of charge; others must be purchased.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1980 to present. Updated monthly. Offered through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts with Proquest Full text This link opens in a new window
Abstracts on all aspects of sociology. Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Proquest Full-Text provides access to 140 full-text titles. Abstracts mostly begin in 1952. Updated monthly. Offered through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts/Proquest.
