The online catalog, which provides access to printed books, e-Books, and other physical resources in the library collection at UNM-Los Alamos, other UNM libraries, and libraries around the world.
Multi-subject Database Best Bets
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for academic institutions, is one of the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowgeneral index to articles across all academic disciplines. Searches may be done across the entire database or within specific disciplines. Many articles are full-text
Gale Academic OneFile SelectThis link opens in a new windowGeneral index to articles across many disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
Gale in Context - Opposing ViewpointsThis link opens in a new windowan engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Films On DemandThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary streaming educational video collection, with large array of topics, including many academic subject areas in arts, sciences, and humanities; pop culture; documentaries and news reels.
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowHumanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals (more than 770 in full text), books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Offered through EBSCOhost.
Native American Studies Databases
American Indian Histories and CultureThis link opens in a new windowDepicts early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects upon American Indian life. Manuscripts, artwork, rare printed books, photographs, and newspapers, tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Continuing through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the "Western Frontier" right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century, highlights both the myths and realities of the "Wild West" and American Indian cultural identity. An Adam Matthew Digital product.
American Indian History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOffers fast access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries. Features Tribe Index; Culture Area Index; Biographies; Events and Topics; Primary Sources, Image Gallery; Legends and more.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowCollection of FBI files providing detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America.
American Indian NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowIndigenous publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma. It provides an Indigenous perspective on the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation. Coverage: 1828 - 2016.
American Memory, Library of CongressThis link opens in a new windowExcellent site for access to digitized primary sources and hard-to-find published works. Includes extensive collection of New Mexico and western materials. Using the "browse" screen, users can browse by subject, time period, format, or place.
American Philosophical Society, Native American ImagesThis link opens in a new windowCollection of digitized Native American images, drawings made on Lewis and Clark's expedition, paintings by C.B.J.F. St. Memin, sketches by Titian Ramsay Peale, watercolors by James Otto Lewis, and more. The collection also includes photographs by anthropologists such as Franz Boas, Frank G. Speck, Elsie Clews Parson, and A. Irving Hallowell.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowFrom Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). An electronic publication that contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations. Offered through Ebscohost.
Indigenous Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowIndigenous Digital Archives contains scanned documents from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Documents include Indian school enrollment records, superintendent reports, land and water rights records from southwest tribes - Pueblo, Navajo and Apache. Open access provided by IDA.
Native American ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowThis collection provides original historical documents pertaining to Native American history and life from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and other collections. Records include: Cherokee Indian Agency Records in Tennessee; Dawes Enrollment Cards and Dawes Packets from the Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, and Seminole nations; Eastern Cherokee Applications; Guion Miller Roll of the Eastern Cherokee; Indian Census Rolls including Indian Schools and southwestern tribes; Photos from Rinehart Collection taken during the Trans-Mississippi International Exposition; and Ratified Indian Treaties made by U.S. Coverage: 1700s to mid 1900s.
New Mexico Historical ReviewThis link opens in a new windowFounded in 1926, the New Mexico Historical Review is one of the oldest and most distinguished historical journals in the country. Publishing high-quality research on New Mexico and the Southwest, including Northern Mexico, each issue is filled with scholarly articles, book reviews and notes on new publications, news and current events.
New Mexico's Digital CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowThe collections originate from the University of New Mexico and from other New Mexico cultural heritage institutions. These collections contain documents, photographs, maps, posters, art and music. Topics include New Mexico history, water and land issues. Other subjects are Latin American art and politics.
North American Indian DramaThis link opens in a new windowContains 93 plays by 18 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Offered through Alexander Street Press.
North American Indian Thought and CultureThis link opens in a new windowContains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Native American Studies Open Access and Web Resources
Dawn of Nations TodayNews publication by the Native-American Studies Dept., UNM. Part of UNM's Digital Repository
Native DaughtersA collection of stories, profiles and multimedia projects about a diverse group of Native American women. They are healers and warriors, story tellers and law makers, leaders, environmentalists and artists.
Native Health Database (UNMH)Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives.